2023 Malaysia National Championships

EventPokémon Championships 2022-23 Malaysia
Date3 June 2023
AttendanceUnknown (64 qualified players)
VideogamePokémon Scarlet and Pokémon Violet
Season2023 Season – VGC Regulation Set C (before HOME ver. 3.0.0)
FormatBo1 single-elimination bracket with Bo3 finals
Closed team lists until top 16 + Open team lists from top 8
OrganizerThe Pokémon Company (TPC) in Malaysia

Table of Contents

Teams and results

112-2CANAbdullah Mohayyuddin
200 CP
Great TuskLilligantTorkoalKingambitFlutter ManeDragonite
211-3CANRyan Loseto
160 CP
Great TuskKingambitArcanineIron BundleFlutter ManeCorviknight
311-3USADylan Salvanera
130 CP
Sandy ShocksAmoongussTauros Paldea BlazeIron BundleBaxcaliburRoaring Moon
411-3USAAaron Zheng
130 CP
Great TuskBrute BonnetTalonflameIron BundleFlutter ManeBaxcalibur
512-2USAZackary Thornberg
100 CP
SylveonGlimmoraCeruledgeDondozoTatsugiri CurlyFlutter Mane
611-3CANNeil Patel
100 CP
Great TuskGlimmoraIron BundleDondozoTatsugiri CurlyDragonite
711-3USAGavin Michaels
100 CP
Iron HandsBrute BonnetVolcaronaAzumarillMimikyuPelipper
811-3CANDemitrios Kaguras
100 CP
Great TuskAmoongussTalonflameIron BundleFlutter ManeTyranitar

1MYSWan Aqil
Worlds Day 2 + TA
Flutter ManeBrute BonnetIndeedeeChien PaoGarchompDrifblim
2MYSYong Wai Hou
Worlds Day 1
Iron HandsAmoongussPelipperDrednawTatsugiri DroopyDondozo
T4MYSLeong Yew Sun
Worlds Day 1
Flutter ManeLilligantChi YuTorkoalTing LuRoaring Moon
T4MYSJasdil Singh Deo
Worlds Day 1
GholdengoAmoongussChien PaoDondozoTing LuDragonite
T8MYSLee Jin Yang
DragoniteGlimmoraChi YuIron BundleTatsugiri CurlyDondozo
T8MYSIsmat Myron
(Ismat Myron)
Flutter ManeAmoongussChi YuGyaradosTing LuIron Hands
T8MYSHakim Aminullah
Flutter ManeMaushold FourAnnihilapeAzumarillFarigirafCorviknight
T8 Vacant*

* There were only 7 players in Top 8 as one of the Top 16 matches ended with a double loss.

Check here to see the seeds for top cut from the Day 2 Swiss standings!

1057-3Ian Roberts (76)40 CP
Iron HandsAmoongussArcaninePalafinFlutter ManeGothitelle

Participating players

The 2023 Malaysia National Championships is open only to the players that qualified through the following criteria:

Qualified players need to sign up to an invite-only Online Competition (Poké Portal → Battle Stadium → Online competitions → Search for a competition) and as a form of team submission as per the indications sent to them by email.

The deadline for this was initially announced as 1 June at 9 am MYT. Players were sent a second email on 30 May late evening stating this was a mistake and the actual deadline was 31 May at 9 am MYT. Due to the short notice, many players missed it or rushed it, and later that day an extension was given until 1 June at 3 pm MYT. The same email banned the newly available items and Egg Moves, creating further uncertainty to players who locked their team between the Pokémon HOME update and the ban notification.

Platform and schedule

The tournament is held online, in your Pokémon Scarlet or Pokémon Violet game. The single-elimination bracket was coordinated by a previously unknown Online Competition mode that allowed an operator to pair the players. Communication with the organisers happened through a Discord server shared with Philippines and Singapore National players.

Players must be ready on 3 June 2023 for the players meeting, and the single-elimination bracket will start thereafter.

All matches are played as best-of-one, except the finals, which are played as best-of-three. The event was announced to run using open team lists, but this was changed at the start of the tournament to use closed team lists until top 16, and open team lists from top 8 onwards.

NOTE: It was initially announced that the Malaysia National Championships would be held as a ladder-based Online Competition on 21 May. However, it was announced on 12 May that the 21 May event would be the Qualifier to a new, online best-of-1 single-elimination competition with best-of-3 finals to be held on 3 June.


This event is an official tournament and is part of the 2023 official circuit in Malaysia.

The highest-placed players earn invites to the 2023 World Championships.

PlacementWorldsOther prizes
ChampionWorlds Day 2 invite + Travel AwardChampion shirt + 1st place trophy
FinalistWorlds Day 1 invite2nd place trophy
SemifinalistsWorlds Day 1 inviteTop 4 trophy


The Malaysia National Championships is the most important VGC competition for players in Malaysia, where TPC is responsible for the circuit since 2020.

It is the second edition of the Malaysia National Championships, always under TPC. See the previous editions:

  • 2022, won by MYS  Kevin Ngim

The previous edition of the Malaysia National Championships was open to everyone, and featured online best-of-1 Swiss rounds + a live event with the best-of-3 single-elimination top cut. This is the first time that a qualifying method has been implemented, the first time it is played in a pure single-elimination format and, alongside the Philippines and Singapore  ationals, the first time any National-level event in VGC history is played completely online.

The ruleset is VGC Regulation Set C and is played with open team lists. Since players could lock their teams before the update of Pokémon HOME to version 3.0.0, it was announced on 31 May that the newly available items and moves are not allowed for this tournament.

A little bit of history

Malaysia has been one of the regions hosting an the official TPC circuit since June 2020, and it was part of the Oceania region of the official TPCI circuit before that. It has hosted multiple major events, including TPCI-era Regional Championships and Special Events, and TPC-era National Championships. Malaysia’s greatest VGC success were the National Championships won by Zarif Ayman in Singapore in 2015 and by Kevin Ngim in Malaysia in 2022.

The most recent tournament held in Malaysia was the 2022 Malaysia National Championships, played online (Swiss rounds) and in Kuala Lumpur (top cut) with the Pokémon Sword & Pokémon Shield VGC Series 12 ruleset in May and June 2022. The finals saw Malaysian Kevin Ngim defeat fellow countryman Gary Ng Yeong Jiang to be crowned as first-ever Malaysia National Champion.

American James Evans, the 2018 Senior Division World Champion, defeated Brazilian Gabriel Agati in the NAIC finals.

Victory Road